.

Share Your Al Davis Memories With Patch

Legendary Oakland Raiders owner an East Bay icon in his 49 years with the team.

The death of Oakland Raiders owner Al Davis today at his Piedmont home marks the end of an era for the Raiders organization.

With the Raider Nation part of the East Bay's fabric, it's likely that many local fans are glued to their TVs today listening to sports pundits wax eloquent about his often controversial controlling leadership style, his fiery moodiness and his phenomenal knowledge of the game after 52 years in the NFL.

What are your favorite Davis stories? Did he make you furious at times? Have you forgiven the team for its move to Los Angeles? What do you think the future holds now that this Godfather-like leader has passed away?

Will you be headed to or other Raiders friendly watering hole to raise a glass in his honor? Or perhaps you'll stop by The Raider Image store at Southland Mall to pick up some team swag.

Tell us in the comments.

Doug Tegner October 08, 2011 at 08:09 PM
I first saw Al Davis personally when the new to town Raiders practiced at the old Hayward High field in Foothill Blvd (now a Safeway parking lot under the old Hayward City Hall building and Centenial Hall. He was out there coaching Jim Otto, Ben Davidson, Clem Daniels, Ike Lassiter, Tom Flores, et al - and uniting a group of diverse personalities into a winning team. Just Win Baby!
Rick October 08, 2011 at 11:10 PM
Anytime you hear someone that knew Mr. Davis personally talk about him always descirbed him one way- a loyal friend. Thats the way to go out of this word. Not worrying what the media says about you. The NFL lost the single greatest mind fottball has ever known. RIP AL Davis
danny October 09, 2011 at 12:45 AM
Danny.. I've been a Raider fan since the age of 9 yrs old in 1976. I bleed Silver and Black. I always called Al my grandpa. I will miss you. Go Raiders! RIP Grandpa:(
Dennis Lyerla October 09, 2011 at 01:35 AM
A John Madden assistant was a good friend of mine....Ray Malavasi later became the only coach at the time to take the L.A. Rams to the Super Bowl. When he passed away at a relatively early age, Al Davis attended his funeral in Huntington Beach.... My thoughts of Mr. Davis will always be those of someone who was loyal to those he knew and with whom he worked. Dennis
Robert Swan October 09, 2011 at 05:26 AM
This Page is to Honor Al Davis for his accomplishments. I would like to see Raider Nation Sell Out the Browns vs Raiders 10/16/11 in Mr Davis Honor. Also to show our support It would be special if every fan wore a Rose, Red or White Preferably. Coach Davis Has brought us many memorable moments some good and some bad, weather your a fan or a hater its time to send him off with a large party pass this around to all your friends. tell them about raider football. Just Win Baby https://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Tribute-To-Al-Davis/272073676159900
Indie UrbanMusic October 09, 2011 at 09:26 AM
Al Davis... This shirt says it all. http://indieurbanmusic.com/product_info.php?products_id=43
Rick Olivero October 09, 2011 at 03:32 PM
Like the Frank Sinatra song "I Did It My Way," Al did it his way. I have been a Raider fan since the first year they played at Frank Youell Field. I have an AFL football that I caught after a George Blanda extra point (before they put up nets on such kicks). The Commissioners name on the ball.........................Al Davis. It's a lifelong remeberance for me. RIP
Joe Crosslin October 10, 2011 at 08:09 PM
The first time I saw the Raiders play was at Frank Youell Field in the early 60's and I learned a valuable lesson about the Raiders. They were getting trounced by halftime and at least a third of the crowd left. They came roaring back in the second half and won the game, you just don’t leave early on the Raiders, Al sure didn’t!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something